On Monday 25th February, NLTA President Heather Bottomley and NLTA Secretary Kathy Lofthouse hosted the AGM and presented the Norfolk Tennis Awards for 2018. Tony Edelsten, NLTA Trustee was also on hand to present the awards.

The event was held at Easton & Otley College, Conference Centre and was well attended by club members from across the county.

The British Tennis Awards celebrate the achievements made by outstanding individuals and venues in British Tennis throughout the past year. They present us all with a great opportunity to say thank you to everyone in the schools, clubs, parks and community venues within England, Scotland and Wales who give so much to our sport.

British Tennis includes the many thousands of inspirational individuals involved in tennis, dedicating their precious time and energy; 25,000 volunteers, 4,400 coaches and 940 officials. The awards highlight the incredible achievements of some 20,000 schools, 2,700 clubs and over 9,700 LTA approved tournaments. The extraordinary contribution of these individuals and venues helps to bring fans and players closer to the game we all love.

Clubs are encouraged to get members to put forward nominations for people within the county who have made an outstanding contribution to the sport locally. All county winners are then judged by an LTA panel to determine regional winners, who are announced at the end of march.

The national finalists will then be announced at the end of April on the LTA website and social media and the national winners will be crowned at the National Awards ceremony taking place on Tuesday 2nd July 2019, at The Championships, Wimbledon.

Congratulations to all of the following Norfolk winners for 2018:

Lifetime Achievement Award   Gillian Ellis (Cringleford TC)

Volunteer of the Year                 Howard Bottomley (Cromer)

Club of the Year                         Great Massingham TC

Young person of the Year         Sam Alcock (Tennis Edge)

Coach of the Year                      Christopher Sanders (Great Massingham TC)

Education Award                       Sewell Park Academy, Norwich

Disability Programme Award   East Anglia Tennis and Squash Club

Tennis Official of the Year        Matt Breese (Easton Tennis Centre)

Competition of the Year            Cromer Lawn Tennis and Squash Club

Presidents Commendation:

‘Volunteer of the Year’ section  Anne Lawton of Gt.Massingham and           Jeremy Storr of EATSC.

Life Vice-President:                        Hillary Kerrison

Robin Lincoln Award:                                      Richard Bloomfield

Recognition for years service as County Captains:  Karen Highfield/Lucy Brooks